New files or folders created online or on another device appear as online-only to save maximum space. However, if you mark a folder as "Always keep on this device," new files in that folder download to your device as always available files.
Yes, you can move online-only files within your OneDrive folder for that OneDrive account. When you move files outside that OneDrive folder, the files download to the new folder and are removed from your OneDrive. If you accidentally delete something, you can restore files or folders by going to your OneDrive recycle bin.
When you delete an online-only file from your device, you delete it from your OneDrive on all devices and online. You can restore deleted files and folders from your OneDrive recycle bin on the web for up to 30 days. If you delete a locally available file, it also appears in your device recycle bin.
To avoid this delay, you can force the system to pre-create all these files and folders for you without downloading your content. To do this, open a Terminal window and type "ls -alR ~/OneDrive" (or the path to your OneDrive). This will ensure your files and folders are created, but not downloaded, before you browse.
When your cache path is placed on an external drive, OneDrive tries to minimize the number of copies of your data it makes, and in most cases, only one copy will exist, usually in the sync root. If your home drive runs into disk pressure, the operating system will evict (dataless) files from the sync root, but they can always be obtained again from the cloud if needed. In some cases a file might exist in both places for a short time, but over time OneDrive updates will optimize this further.
If Finder hangs, this is probably because there are too much files in the "entire contents". It could be that some downloaded items are made of folders with sub-folders / subfolders,... then too many files.
If you don't want to mess with the scheduling of the task, you could create a Folder Action (instead of a Workflow) in Automator for the Downloads-Folder that deletes files older than 30 days if a new file hits the folder. The workflow would essentially be the same as in @user3439894s suggestion.
If you're signed in with a work or school account, items in the recycle bin are automatically deleted after 93 days, unless the administrator has changed the setting. See more information about how long deleted items are kept for work or school accounts.
If you get an email or notification saying "[Folder name] was removed from your OneDrive" it means that a shared folder was deleted. You will not be able to restore or recover a folder shared with you. If you shared a folder with other people and they deleted its contents, you can find the contents in your recycle bin.
To restore files from your Recycle Bin in Windows, open the Recycle Bin, select the files or folders you want to recover, then right-click them and select Restore. The file or folder will be restored to its original folder.
To restore files from your Trash on a Mac, open the Trash, select the files or folders you want to recover, then right-click them and select Put back. The file or folder will be restored to its original folder.
As you can see, you have quite a few options when it comes to recovering deleted files on Mac. Regardless of which option you pick, you should always make data recovery your top priority and avoid writing new data to the storage device on which the deleted files were located.
When you delete the wrong file on Mac and notice your mistake right away, you can instantly recover it using the Undo command. As its name suggests, this command reverses the last completed action, and there are several ways to invoke it.
When you delete a file on Mac, it usually (not always!) ends up in a special folder called Trash, where it stays until you manually/automatically empty Trash. While the file is in Trash, you can recover it to its original folder with a few simple clicks and know that the recovery will be 100% successful.
Some macOS apps, like the Photo app, store recently deleted items in a specially designated folder to enable their quick recovery. Here are the steps you should follow to recover a lost file using this method.
Using a data recovery service like the CleverFiles data recovery center can help you get back lost data when other options have failed. Professional data recovery experts will employ advanced hardware and software techniques to clone your damaged storage device and recover its files.
With the solutions described in this article, you should be able to recover all deleted files from healthy storage devices, including traditional spinning hard drives, modern solid-state drives, USB flash drives, and memory cards.
When files are permanently deleted on Mac (such as when the Trash folder is emptied), the space occupied by them is marked as available, allowing other files to overwrite it. Until that happens, permanently deleted files can be recovered.
Hi all,I currently maintain a Mac cluster at the University of Leeds & they are used mainly for video editing. Each Mac has a external firewire drive attached to them (called Local Temp) & at present they are completely un-managed which inevitably leads to the HD's becoming full. At that point it is impossible to wipe the drives without students losing work & this can cause issues when students have deadlines to meet!My predecessor had create a perl script which run twice a month to look for files which were older than 14 days and delete them - however I have looked at the perl file and I have no idea as to how it works! I was hoping there was either a tool or script which was easy to use and would allow me to schedule regular wiping of old work (which means everybody has a 2 week period of grace).Any advice would be gratefully received.Kind RegardsCraig
OK. So assuming you wanted to delete files recursively without deleting folders, here you go. This one gets a list of the files that match the age date (by the modified date parameter, 30 days), moves the files to a holding pen, then moves files in the hold pen based on a second age date (by the modified date, 60 days) to the Trash and then empties the trash.
set deleteFileList to (files of entire contents of folder alias "Macintosh HD:Users:mkleinpaste:Desktop:too delete" whose modification date is less than ((get current date)) - 60 * days)
Would you believe the previous IT guy had already written a fairly complex perl but to activate all I needed to do was remove a # sign! I've trawled though his code today and I noted one feature which I thought was cool - essentially the script moves old files to a hidden directory (called .limbo - does a dot at the start of a folder name hide a mac folder?) & they remain hidden for a week before finally being deleted.
Anyway at some point I will need to address the problem so could I modify the applescript to move files to a hidden folder then delete them? Also - I found a piece of software called Trash Later; it seems to do this via GUI so it may be of use to some one!
If the user permanently deleted these emails more than 25 days ago and either do not have Google Vault OR you did not set it up yet, then even if you sign up for Google Vault (or set it up now), you can not recover them.
You will find all possible options in this complete guide to recover deleted emails, most of the options are available if you are using Google Workspace, unfortunately if you are on personal Gmail (@gmail.com) account, and deleted emails from Trash label, then there is no way to recover it.
If you have read the Google Photos fineprint, you probably know that Google removes your photos for good after your photos have been in the trash for 60 days. Many users are actually not aware of this, and as a result, they need to find methods for how to recover deleted Google Photos after 60 days.
If you are one of those users and you are looking to recover files from more than 30 days, you have come to the right place. Here we offer various methods to help you recover photos that have been deleted a long time ago from your Google Photos account.
The quickest way to recover deleted photos is to try and recover photos from your Android phone itself. The day the photo deletion process works, it is highly likely you will be able to recover some, if not all, photos from your device.
If it has been quite a long time since you deleted photos from Google Photos, but you now want to recover your photos, the above methods should help you out. Tenorshare UltData for Android is worth a try if you want to recover deleted Google photos after 30 days/60 days. 2b1af7f3a8